Lawrence Abu Hamdan lebt und arbeitet in Dubai, AE

 

Lawrence Abu Hamdan ist Künstler, Autor und Forscher und schafft Audiodokumentationen, Filme, Performances und Installationen. Als unabhängiger Audioermittler Private Ear nimmt er sich derjenigen an, deren Lebenswirklichkeiten und Menschenrechte durch das Raster der offiziellen Aufzeichnungen und Geschichte fallen. Abu Hamdan erweitert die Möglichkeiten der forensischen Analyse und Visualisierung, indem er Ziviles und Kriminelles, Theologisches und Übernatürliches einbezieht und sich durch das Ausleuchten von Dissonanzen in Sprache und Sprechen entschlossen für eine „Politik des Zuhörens“ ausspricht.

1

Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Air Conditioning [Akustische Konditionierung], 2022, Farbtintenstrahldruck auf Archivpapier, aufgezogen auf Aluminium; Vinyletiketten; Lehrvideo in HD, Farbe, 2′, Druck 90 × 5475 cm, Installationsansicht, Sharjah Art Foundation, 2022, Foto: Danko Stjepanovic, Courtesy Sharjah Art Foundation; Sfeir-Semler Gallery,, Beirut/Hamburg; Maureen Paley, London; Mor Charpentier, Paris  © Lawrence Abu Hamdan

Für Air Conditioning [Akustische Konditionierung, 2022] hat Abu Hamdan Daten aus 15 Jahren Luftüberwachung des Libanon durch israelische Militärflugzeuge bis ins kleinste Detail recherchiert. Diese aus verschiedenen Dokumenten der United Nations Digital Library zusammengetragenen Verletzungen des Luftraums hat er in einem Kompositbild zusammengefügt, das sein Konzept der atmosphärischen Gewalt veranschaulicht. Der verdeckte Krieg kann bei den Betroffenen zu traumatischen Nachwirkungen aller Art führen ‒ von Herzerkrankungen bis zum Hörverlust. Air Conditioning beleuchtet dies erstmals öffentlich.

Nach dem Libanonkrieg 2006 begann Israel mit einer speziellen Methode der Kriegführung ‒ der akustischen Konditionierung des libanesischen Luftraums, zunächst mit F-35-Kampfjets, dann mit unbemannten Luftfahrzeugen (UAVs) und wendigen, tieffliegenden Drohnen. Das pikareske, digitale und zugleich materielle Bild vor unseren Augen wurde mit der CGI-Software Houdini erstellt, die normalerweise Rauchschwaden und -fahnen in Spielfilmen simuliert. In diesem Kontext erzeugt sie einen für die Landschaftsmalerei der Romantik typischen Wolkenhimmel, der sich durch das Verblassen der feinen Partikel in den üppigen Wolkenformationen allmählich verändert. So wird im Rahmen einer Politik der ästhetischen Dissonanz die akustische Luftverschmutzung über den Köpfen der Menschen sichtbar, wobei jeder Zentimeter einen Tag am Himmel über dem Libanon zwischen 2007 und 2021 darstellt.

Air Conditioning macht die Unterdrückung aus der Luft körperlich spürbar. Die einzelnen Verletzungen des libanesischen Luftraums scheinen von kurzer Dauer zu sein, doch akkumuliert werden sie zu einem Bild, das den Folgen einer 15 Jahre andauernden Explosion gleicht.

In Verbindung mit der Installation wird die von Moritz Ebeling gestaltete Website www.airpressure.info veröffentlicht.

 

Omar Kholeif

Ausstellungen

The Sonic Image, 2022, Sharjah Art Foundation, Dubai (AE)

Polyphone. Polyphonies Visuelles et Sonores, 2022, Musée d’Art et d’Histoire Paul Eluard, Saint-Denis (FR)

Information (Today), 2022, Astrup Fearnley Museet, Oslo (NO)

Lawrence Abu Hamdan: Green Coconuts and Other Inadmissible Evidence, 2020, Wiener Secession, Wien (AT) (solo)

The Voice Before the Law, 2019, Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, Berlin (DE) (solo)

Tell me about yesterday tomorrow, 2019, NS-Dokumentationszentrum München, München (DE)

Lawrence Abu Hamdan lives and works in Dubai, AE

 

Lawrence Abu Hamdan is an artist, writer, and researcher whose work takes the form of audio documentary, film, performance, and installation. In his practice as Private Ear, he has engaged subjects whose lived experiences and human rights have fallen through the interstices of official records or history. Spanning the civil and the criminal, the theological and the supernatural, Abu Hamdan has expanded the possibilities of forensic analysis and visualization, illuminating dissonances in language and speech, which fosters a concerted engagement in “the politics of listening.”

1

Lawrence Abu Hamdan, Air Conditioning, 2022, full-color inkjet print on archival paper mounted on aluminum; vinyl labels; instructional video, HD, color, 2′, print 90 × 5475 cm, installation view, Sharjah Art Foundation, 2022, photo: Danko Stjepanovic, courtesy Sharjah Art Foundation; Sfeir-Semler Gallery, Beirut/Hamburg; Maureen Paley, London; Mor Charpentier, Paris  © Lawrence Abu Hamdan

In Air Conditioning (2022), Abu Hamdan has painstakingly assembled details of Israeli military plane surveillance over Lebanon during a fifteen-year period. Composed of individual documents from the United Nations Digital Library, these violations of the sky are mapped into a sprawling composite image, evoking Abu Hamdan’s concept of atmospheric violence. This invisible warfare has the potential to induce all manner of traumatic aftereffects in the populace below—from heart disease to hearing loss. Air Conditioning brings this to light for the first time in a public forum.

Following the 2006 July War, Israel commenced a distinct form of warfare—an auditory conditioning of Lebanese airspace, initially carried out with F-35 fighter jets, then UAVs (Unmanned Aerial Vehicles) and nimble low-flying drones. The picaresque image before us is simultaneously digital and material—distilled through the CGI software Houdini, traditionally used to animate smoke and plumes in movies. In this expansive field, the plush skies associated with Romantic history painting are evoked and gradually transmuted through the discolored particulates that inhabit its pregnant clouds. The sonic air pollution overhead is converted into ocular form, illuminating a dissonant aesthetic politics, with each centimeter exemplifying a single day in the life of the Lebanese sky from 2007 to 2021.

Air Conditioning presents a visceral experience of aerial subjugation. Although in Lebanon these singular violations are seemingly short-lived, Abu Hamdan presents them as an accumulated event, akin to the aftermath of a fifteen-year explosion.

The website www.airpressure.info, designed by Moritz Ebeling, is being launched in conjunction with the installation.

 

Omar Kholeif

Exhibitions

The Sonic Image, 2022, Sharjah Art Foundation, Dubai (AE)

Polyphone. Polyphonies Visuelles et Sonores, 2022, Musée d’Art et d’Histoire Paul Eluard, Saint-Denis (FR)

Information (Today), 2022, Astrup Fearnley Museet, Oslo (NO)

Lawrence Abu Hamdan: Green Coconuts and Other Inadmissible Evidence, 2020, Wiener Secession, Vienna (AT) (solo)

The Voice Before the Law, 2019, Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin, Berlin (DE) (solo)

Tell me about yesterday tomorrow, 2019, Munich Documentation Centre for the History of National Socialism, Munich (DE)